Activities & Organizations

Madisonville Community College faculty and staff sponsor a number of student organizations. Below are names, descriptions, and contacts for each one.

Whatever your interest, get involved! Madisonville Community College offers students a variety of student organizations from which to choose! Participation in a student organization during your college years provides you with opportunities to grow and excel as a student. Participating helps develop leadership skills, learn more about your chosen career, build a network of individuals with similar interests, and much more! We encourage you to find an organization that interests you and contact the group’s advisor to find out how you can become more involved.

The purpose of the Archery Club @ MCC is to promote the sport of archery throughout the college’s service area and to represent the college on the competitive level in state, regional, and national competitions. The college is a member of the United States Collegiate Archery organization and for competition students may be required to be a member as well.

Contact: Cathy Vaughan, (270) 824-1705, cathy.vaughan@kctcs.edu

Baptist College Ministry is the Christian student organization on campus. Although it is a Baptist sponsored ministry, the meetings are open to all faculty, staff, and students regardless of church affiliation or denomination. BCM meets at 12:15 each Wednesday on the North Campus in JHG 303.  Meetings consist of a free lunch, fellowship, music, topic studies, videos, guest speakers, and community projects.

Contact: Connie Harralson, (270) 824-8648, connie.harralson@kctcs.edu

The mission of HOSA is to inform the general public and the college community about different aspects of health care professions and to encourage the student body to consider and pursue health careers. Meeting times will vary during the year according to schedules.

Contact: Misty Burton, (270) 824-1745 misty.burton@kctcs.edu or Tonia Gibson, (270) 824-1739, tonia.gibson@kctcs.edu

KANS is a part of the National Student Nursing Association (NSNA). We have student elected officers here at the college and students can run for state office as well. State and national conferences give the students a chance to network with colleagues from other colleges and universities.

Contact: Tracie Lear, (270) 824-1800, tracie.lear@kctcs.edu or Judy Mitchell, (270) 824-1810, judy.mitchell@kctcs.edu or Sheri Pullin, (270) 824-1801, spullin0001@kctcs.edu

KEA Student Program is a professional association for college students preparing to enter the teaching profession. KEA-SP participates in NEA Read Across America and many other community service activities.

Contact: Cathy Vaughan (270) 824-1705, cathy.vaughan@kctcs.edu

MCC Games Society is a specialty interest club that provides students the opportunity for learning and playing a variety of games—for relaxation and entertainment, socialization, and learning enhancement.

Contact: Dr. Scott Vander Ploeg, (270) 824-8684, scott.vanderploeg@kctcs.edu

Led by MCC President Dr. Cynthia Kelley, the MCC Presidential Leadership Institute is a transformative, unique opportunity and learning experience to empower emerging leaders. This program allows student to learn principles and theories of leadership, to interact with college and community leaders, to participate in leadership activities, to build leadership skills, to develop networking relationships, and to foster character and citizenship. Participants will be selected through an application process and attendance at meetings is required.

Contact: Cathy Vaughan, (270)-824-1705, cathy.vaughan@kctcs.edu

The MCC Lions Club (chartered in 2001) is a member of the International Lions Club Organization. The Lions Club hosts the annual Hopkins County School District Talent Competition as a fund raiser for scholarships and eye care assistance. Club meetings are usually the second Wednesday of each month at 12:15-1:00.

Contact: Wes Ausenbaugh, (270) 824-8605, wes.ausenbaugh@kctcs.edu

The Multicultural Student Association provides new and returning minority students with academic support and advising, cultural enrichment activities, and opportunities for social interaction with on-campus peers.
Students can participate in monthly meetings, plan community service, and help create an inclusive campus environment.

Contact: James Bowles, (270) 824-8588, james.bowles@kctcs.edu

Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) is the collegiate division of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA). It is an equal opportunity organization that seeks the interest of students who have a curiosity about business and/or business-related fields. PBL helps students develop leadership and networking opportunities in a collegial setting as well as within the community so that they will benefit as productive and efficient citizens.

Contact: Kim Simons, (270) 824-8639, kimberlyl.simons@kctcs.edu or Clarissa Hill, (270)-824-8620, clarissa.hill@kctcs.edu

If your college experience is going well (credits & GPA), you can join the XH Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for two-year schools. PTK provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals, lively fellowship for student scholars, and interest in continuing academic excellence.

Contact: Dr. Scott Vander Ploeg, (270) 824-8684, scott.vanderploeg@kctcs.edu

The purpose of the PTA Club is to enrich and broaden the views and knowledge of current and future PTA students related to the role of the PTA in the medical field; to sponsor and engage in a variety of community service opportunities; and, to sponsor community/campus activities which promote awareness of the field of physical therapy. All students enrolled in the PTA Program and any other MCC student interested in pursuing the Physical Therapy field are eligible to join. Dues are $5.00/year.

Contact: Stephanie Taylor, (270) 824-1743, stephanie.taylor@kctcs.edu or Amanda Skeen, (270)-824-1746, amanda.skeen@kctcs.edu

GROW strives to embody, empower, support, and assist men in creating a strong foundation of success upon which to build professional and personal growth, and community involvement.

Contact: James Bowles, (270) 824-8588, james.bowles@kctcs.edu

The mission of Madisonville Community College's Student Government Association (SGA) is to further development of the ideals, character, and knowledge of the College and its students; to insure a maximum of self-government based upon mutual respect of the students, administration, faculty, and staff; and to promote student activities.

Contact: Cathy Vaughan (270) 824-1705, cathy.vaughan@kctcs.edu

Students who are members of TRIO Student Support Services may participate in TRIO Club. The club meets on a monthly basis throughout the fall and spring semesters. TRIO Club sponsors an annual service project and enjoys various social activities.

Contact: Temesia Perdue, (270) 824-8669, temesia.perdue@kctcs.edu

The MCC Music Club invites students with an interest in music who want to share and expand their appreciation, abilities/talents. and knowledge of music theory and history. Activities may include listening to and discussing music, performing, learning how to read and write music, and attending concerts together.

Contact: Dr. Sara Adams, (270) 824-8617, sara.adams@kctcs.edu or Betsy Allen, (270) 824-1727, betsy.allen@kctcs.edu

The purpose of RENEW is to provide information for the student (female) body that will help enhance all aspects of their lives: personal, professional, social, etc. Students will be given opportunities to network with people in the community through service projects, guest speakers, and other events.

Contact: Brittney Stevenson, (270) 824-8671, brittney.hernandez-stevenson@kctcs.edu