Activities & Organizations

Madisonville Community College faculty and staff sponsor a number of student organizations. Below are names, descriptions, and contacts for each one.

The purpose of the Archery Club @ MCC is to promote the sport of archery throughout the college s service area and to represent the college on the competitive level in state, regional, and national competitions. The college is a member of the United States Collegiate Archery organization and for competition students may be required to be a member as well.

Contact: Dr. Jay Parrent, (270) 824-8571, jay.parrent@kctcs.edu

BCM is a Christian fellowship group for college students, not just for Baptists, but is open to everyone interested.

  • Muhlenberg Campus Wednesdays at 12:15 12:50 Room 101
  • Health Campus Tuesdays at 12:00 1:00 Room 214/215 Hatley Building
  • North Campus Wednesdays at 12:15 1:00 Room 309 JHG Building

Lunch is provided free at each meeting and we have a time of fellowship and devotion.

Contact: Connie Harralson, (270) 824-8648, connie.harralson@kctcs.edu

The mission of HOSA is to inform the general public and the college community about different aspects of health care professions and to encourage the student body to consider and pursue health careers. Meeting times will vary during the year according to schedules.

Contact:
Misty Burton, (270) 824-1745, ACAD 207G, misty.burton@kctcs.edu

Tonia Gibson, (270) 824-1739, ACAD 207C, tonia.gibson@kctcs.edu

KANS is a part of the National Student Nursing Association (NSNA). We have student elected officers here at the college and students can run for state office as well. State and national conferences give the students a chance to network with colleagues from other colleges and universities.

Contact:

Sarah Peyton, (270) 824-1786, MCC Health Campus, speyton0006@kctcs.edu

Ava Cook, (270) 824-1793, MCC Health Campus, ava.cook@kctcs.edu

Student Program is a professional association for college students preparing to enter the teaching profession. KEA-SP participates in NEA Read Across America and many other community service activities.

Contact: Lisa Lee, (270) 824-8612, JHG 271, lisae.Lee@kctcs.edu

Leaders are made and not born- and Leadership MCC can help make you a leader in your school, church, or community. Students participate in academic and extracurricular activities and earn points toward the Leadership Medallion, awarded at graduation. Field trips, seminars, and other experiences are available.

Contact: Jay Parrent, 270) 824-8571, jay.parrent@kctcs.edu

The MCC Lions Club (chartered in 2002) is a member of the International Lions Club Organization. The Lions Club hosts the annual Hopkins County School District Talent Competition as a fund raiser for scholarships and eye care assistance. Club meetings are usually the second Wednesday of each month in JHG 162 (12:15-1:00).

Interested in joining the MCC Lions Club? Fill out the application above and return it to Wes Ausenbaugh, wes.ausenbaugh@kctcs.edu, (270) 824-8605.

The Multicultural Student Association provides new and returning minority students with academic support and advising, cultural enrichment activities, and opportunities for social interaction with on-campus peers.

Contact: James Bowles, (270) 824-8588, JHG C85, james.bowles@kctcs.edu

Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) is the collegiate division of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA). It is an equal opportunity organization that seeks the interest of students who have a curiosity about business and/or business-related fields. PBL helps students develop leadership and networking opportunities in a collegial setting as well as within the community so that they will benefit as productive and efficient citizens. If you are interested in developing leadership, communication, and team skills, or simply looking for an organization to meet and network with others at the local, state, or national levels; PBL is the organization for you.

Contact:

Kim Simons, (270) 824-8639, JHG 270, kimberlyl.simons@kctcs.edu

Clarissa Hill, (270) 824-8620, JHG 273, clarissa.hill@kctcs.edu

PTK recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. PTK provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals, lively fellowship for student scholars, and interest in continuing academic excellence.

Contact: Scott Vander Ploeg, (270) 824-8684, Learning Resource Center, scott.vanderploeg@kctcs.edu

The purpose of the PTA Club (PTAC) is to enrich and broaden the views and knowledge of current and future PTA students related to the role of the PTA in the medical field; to sponsor and engage in a variety of community service opportunities; and, to sponsor community/campus activities which promote awareness of the field of physical therapy. Activities include the MCC American Heart Walk, Bowl for Kids' Sake, and the BAJA 5K run and 1 mile walk. All students enrolled in the PTA Program and any other MCC student interested in pursuing the Physical Therapy field are eligible to join. Dues are $5.00/year.

Contact: Stephanie Taylor, (270) 824-1743, ACAD 110A, staylor0106@kctcs.edu

The mission of Madisonville Community College's Student Government Association (SGA) is to further development of the ideals, character, and knowledge of the College and its students; to insure a maximum of self-government based upon mutual respect of the students, administration, faculty, and staff; and to promote student activities.

Contact: Cathy Vaughan, (270) 824-1705, JHG 336, cathy.vaughan@kctcs.edu