Madisonville Community College (MCC) is pleased to announce the nomination of Loretta Elder for the 2015 Acorn Award sponsored by the Council on Postsecondary Education (CPE). The Acorn Award, first given in 1992, is presented to outstanding faculty members at Kentucky s public or independent colleges and universities. The award, which is presented at the Governor s Conference on Postsecondary Education Trusteeship, recognizes and rewards exceptional teaching. Two awards will be given at the 2015 conference, one to a faculty member from a four-year institution and one to a faculty member from a two-year institution.

Nominated by MCC President Dr. Judith L. Rhoads, Elder, of Providence, is a Professor in the college s Integrated Nursing Program. She is currently pursuing a Doctorate of Nursing Practice in Organizational Leadership (DNP) degree from Eastern Kentucky University. Anticipated graduation date is May 2016. She holds a Master of Science in Nursing Education (MSN) degree from the University of Southern Indiana, a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree (BSN) from Murray State University, and completed her Associate of Applied Science in Nursing degree from MCC. She is credentialed as a Certified Nurse Educator in addition to her Registered Nurse licensure.

Elder is a member of the National League for Nurses, the American Nurses Association, the Kentucky Nurses Association, the National Organization for Associate Degree Nurses, and Sigma Theta Tau International. She has served as President for District 11 of the Kentucky Nurses Association and as the State Elected KNA Professional Practice and Advocacy Cabinet member.

In the award nomination packet, Elder shared that she chose teaching as a profession after serving many years in the role of staff nurse, nurse manager, and nursing education coordinator. Nursing is a career full of teaching moments. As a nurse, her goal was to help other succeed. Teaching fulfilled her ultimate passion of helping students begin successful careers.

All Acorn Award nomination packets are reviewed by a committee appointed by CPE. The 2015 Acorn Award recipients will be announced on September 28 during the awards ceremony at the Governor s Trusteeship Conference held at the Marriott Griffin Gate in Lexington.