News Archive


Madisonville Community College is pleased to announce the first scholarship recipients of the Dr. Lea Ann Davenport Memorial Endowment. For the 2014-2015 academic year, Makayla Yandell, of Manitou, has been awarded a $1,600 scholarship. Makayla is currently completing coursework towards an Associate in Science degree and anticipates graduating in spring 2015. She plans to transfer to either University of Kentucky or University of Evansville to pursue a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree.

Kayla Zachary, of Madisonville, has been awarded a $500 scholarship for the fall 2014 semester. She is completing an Associate in Science degree and anticipates transferring to Murray State University in spring 2015 to pursue a degree in Environmental Geology.

Dr. Lea Ann Davenport was honored on April 17, 2014 with the naming of a classroom in the Joe C. Davis Science and Mathematics Building on the college s North Campus. The Dr. Lea Ann Davenport Memorial Endowment was made possible through a planned insurance arrangement that her parents, Ann and Bill Davenport, completed while their daughter was in college. The endowment will provide scholarship awards to students majoring in the math/sciences areas and will also provide for faculty professional development funding.

The Davenport Memorial Endowment scholarship selection committee consisted of MCC faculty members Tate Bennett, Gail Hawkins, Dr. Aseem Talukdar, and Jennifer Welch (Chair).