Never doubt yourself was the message heard by the 2013-2014 graduates participating in the 29th annual Hopkins County Adult Education Graduation ceremony held on July 18 in the Richard Byrnes Auditorium on the Health Sciences Campus of Madisonville Community College (MCC). Shannon Dzikowski, a 2009 GED graduate, shared her inspiring and motivating story during the graduate address. It is okay to be scared but do not let it stop you from going far in life . . . you will be amazed at the opportunities that await you since you got your GED. A single mother of a 4 year old son who has been diagnosed with autism, Dzikowski graduated with honors from MCC in May 2013 and anticipates successful completion of her Bachelor of Integrated Studies degree with a Human Services emphasis in December 2014 from Murray State University.

Graduates Laura Wright and Pablo de Los Santos were recipients of $500 Partners in Progress Endowed Scholarship awards to attend MCC. Academic awards for outstanding accomplishments were presented to:
Ronny Daugherty Mathematics
Wanda Mitchell Writing
Felicia Loney Science
Shawna Fugate Social Studies
David Fugate Reading
Kenneth Caraway Overall Academic Achievement

Cris Crowley, Director of Adult Education ACE2, shared, GED graduation is the event our instructors look forward to and get excited about each and every year. It is our opportunity to celebrate the successes and pay respect to the efforts of our graduates. Many will be enrolling in college in the fall, and others have gained employment because of earning their GED credential. It s their night to shine and celebrate and we are honored and humbled to have been a part of their successful educational journey. Since July 2000 to present date, more than 1,100 students have earned their GED through the Adult Centers for Education Excellence (ACE2) Adult Education Program.

The 2013-2014 graduates are:

Jahanna Almon
Jessica Alshire
Gary Austin
Randall Baker
Zach Benton
Jacob Block
Jeramy Bruce
Colby Burge
Kenneth Caraway
Jennifer Chavis
Christopher Clemmons
Travis Conrad
Ronny Daugherty
Jason Davis
Laura Davis
Kassidy Day
Pablo de Los Santos
Brad Draper
David Fugate
Shawna Fugate
Tyler Gamblin
Alissa Gatewood
Joshua Gray
Denise Gunther
Brendon Hall
Michael Harrell
Whitney Hughlett
Roy Irvin
Robert Jackson
Douglas Koon
Dakota Larkins
Felicia Loney
Donovan McBride
James McFarland
Magen McGar-Myers
Wanda Mitchell
Savannah Morgan
Shaun Taylor Oldham
Ashley Orten
Mary Orten
Brandy Phelps
Justin Polley
Makayla Poole
Sheila Powers
Christopher Reynolds
Zoe Ryther
Rachel Sheffer
Daniel Smith
Sara Spurlin
Blade Terry
Sabrina Terry
Tabatha Townsell
Jesse Tucker
Darick Williams
Sarah Williams
Laura Wright