News Archive

Joint Agreement Between Murray State and MCC Opens Pathway to Four-Year Degree

MADISONVILLE, Ky Officials at Madisonville Community College and Murray State University hope that a new joint admissions agreement will encourage more students to pursue their education beyond their coursework at MCC.

Having a clear pathway from a two-year to a four-year degree will be a plus for the students of Madisonville Community College, said Dr. Judith Rhoads, president of MCC. A goal for Murray State and MCC is to raise the educational level of the region. The joint admissions agreement is a huge step in that direction.

The agreement allows MCC students with 30 to 45 transferable credit hours to be jointly admitted to MSU. Students will follow transfer frameworks for their program of interest at Murray.

This program helps us to facilitate transfer, said Aimee Wilkerson, director of enrollment management at MCC. It will make it easier to identify those transfer students earlier and help make a smoother transition to Murray.

The joint agreement formalizes the already great relationship between the two institutions.

This further solidifies the spirit of partnership that Madisonville Community College and Murray State University have enjoyed for several years, said Dr. Brian Van Horn, dean of continuing education at MSU. The joint admissions program is a win-win for all parties involved.

Murray will waive the fee on its admission application and MCC will provide its students with transcripts at the end of each semester. Each college will also identify and train transfer academic advisors to assist students in the joint admissions program.

Tuition and fees will be assessed by the institution from which the student takes the class. Financial aid will be available to jointly enrolled students through their home institution.